Thread: Iron Head Sporty

Frankenstien

Hey All'

In my local newspaper there is an 84 Iron Head Sportster for sale. It is in great condition and the price is cheap. Only one problem,the owner claims the bike was checked out by a mechanic and is said to have a broken pinion shaft. Now I have been a M/C mechanic for many years and have built more than a few sporty engines however, I have not ever had one come in with the pinion shaft broken.

Now I would imagine that in addition to the shaft it will probably have some bent valves,etc. My real big concern is the engine cases and flywheels. But If any off you have seen what else could happen or your experiences on what happens when the shaft breaks could you guys post it up here I considerd buying this bike,fixing it and maybe do some bracket racing with it. If mass destruction happens after the pinion breaking well then I will pass on it .

Thanks guys/gals..........