ANDRA: Sportsman Series Results from Perth Motorplex

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

ANDRA australian national drag racing association

Sportsman Series Results From Perth Motorplex

The stage is set for a monumental Grand Final later this month (Adelaide International Raceway, March 23-24) following the conclusion of the penultimate round of the 2017/2018 Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman Series at the Perth Motorplex.

Hoisting ANDRA Christmas Trees on Sunday night were Steph Gullotto (DENSO Super Street), Bryan Finn (Modified Bike), Martin Mirco (Super Sedan), Matt Czerny (Modified), Chris Theo (Top Sportsman), David Smith (Supercharged Outlaws) Jim Ioannidis (SuperStock), Ralph Lewis (Competition) and Wayne Patterson (Competition Bike).

Runners-up were Joel Trotman (DENSO Super Street), Trent Anthony (Modified Bike), George Tipouikidis (Super Sedan), Mark Grieve (Modified), Alby Bakranich (Top Sportsman), Jon Ferguson (Supercharged Outlaws) Jamie Chaisty (SuperStock), Stuart Moresby (Competition) and Phill Paton (Competition Bike).

For full results from this weekend’s Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman Series round at the Perth Motorplex, please click here.

Competition Bike

In the Competition Bike ranks, Patterson took the victory while Top Qualifier Paton was able to secure not only the runner-up honours, but also a new national record (DD/CB – 8.344s). Patterson, of Bunbury (WA), had enjoyed a bye to the final after having earlier taken victory from Daniel Natalotto, while Paton defeated a red-lighting Ryan Learmonth after a bye in the first round of eliminations.

“We had a few dramas yesterday, the bike didn’t go any good, my electric toothbrush broke down this morning – I had a really bad run,” laughed Patterson.

“I would like to thank my mates for helping us get here and thank Phil for a really close race at the end, it was very close and it was a great thing.”

CompleteCompetition Bike PDF Results, click here – Qualifying / Eliminations


Modified Bike

In Modified Bike, defending champion Finn did his quest to secure three consecutive national titles no harm by securing the victory over Anthony, after having earlier taken on a red-lighting Zoe Nieuwhof in round one, before defeating Luke Seaton, Geoff Smith and Ross Garrett. It was an eventful run to the final for runner-up Anthony, who raced against the centre-block-hitting Danny Rickard in the semi final after having earlier faced off against Brian Hotker, survived a double red-lighting race against Dave Essers, and dispatched Morry Cantarella in the opening stanza.

Complete Modified Bike PDF Results, click here – Qualifying / Eliminations

ANDRA thanks the Perth Motorplex as well as all of the volunteers and sponsors for an outstanding race track and a well-run event.

The final round of the 2017/2018 Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman Series will be held at Adelaide International Raceway across March 23-24. For more information, visit and



The Australian National Drag Racing Association Ltd, or ANDRA for short, is the drag racing sanctioning body of Australia.

The organization was created in 1973 from a more drag racing oriented faction of the Australian Hot Rod Federation.

Today ANDRA sanctions races throughout Australia and throughout the year at all levels, from Top Fuel to Junior Dragster, on everything from temporary regional tracks to international standard facilities in capital cities.

ANDRA and its members make drag racing a family friendly, safe sport. So come along as a spectator or bring your street car to an “off street” event and enjoy the excitement that is Australian drag racing.