HomeNews / Race ResultsANDRA: WA Title Fights go Down to the Wire This Saturday

ANDRA: WA Title Fights go Down to the Wire This Saturday

ANDRA australian national drag racing association

ANDRA: WA Title Fights go Down to the Wire This Saturday

The WA Drag Racing Grand Finals event will see what has been a highly competitive WA Drag Racing Championships season draw to a close this Saturday at the Perth Motorplex.

One title battle that is sure to go right down to the wire is that of the Perth/Rockingham Harley Modified Bike class, with a long list of racers in championship contention ahead of the decider.

Armadale’s Geoff Smith leads the way on 625 points, with Ian Read (620), Noel Wilson (600), Ian Glatz (600), Luke Seaton (580), Shane McGarry (580) and Simon Garbutt (570) nipping at his heels.

As everyone knows, anything can happen on race day and with the WA Drag Racing Grand Finals event offering 50 percent bonus points, Smith says it really is anyone’s game.

ANDRA Geoff Smith

“The season has not been too bad for me, but it could always be better – for instance, I could be more than five points ahead, but that is the way it is,” he laughed.

“I predicted there would be a half dozen of us at the end and that is what has happened.

“It has been a good and hard-fought season, and we will just go to the track on Saturday not knowing what will happen – that is drag racing!

“I am not feeling confident, especially as last time I ran the bike it blew a fuse and shut everything down in the run-off area.

“While I now know that the fuse blew, I don’t know why and so I am a little bit cautious heading into Saturday – I guess it just makes it even more interesting!

“Anybody could win on Saturday – five or six of us might go out in the first round, or five or six of us might all get to the third round. No one knows what is going to happen, so I reckon you just have to run your own race, ‘run what you brung,’ and see what happens.”

Smith already has one title to his name, but it didn’t come on two wheels.

“I wish good luck to everyone on Saturday but of course if we could win the title, it would be pretty special,” the BMW S1000RR racer said.

“The last time I won a championship it was with my late brother in Modified back in the 1982/1983 season.

“If I won it, it would mean 38 years between titles and that I would have one on four wheels and one on two wheels, so that would be pretty great.”

Smith thanks BM Bikes, Tyres for Bikes, and fellow racer Rob Good for their support.

The WA Drag Racing Grand Finals take place this Saturday, April 10. Qualifying begins from 11am with the feature show from 5.30pm. For more information, visit motorplex.com.au

For more from ANDRA, visit www.andra.com.au

Weekend Motorcycle Entry List

Nitro Bike

  • Greg DURACK Kawasaki ZX12R Turbo 1570cc
  • Jay UPTON Top Fuel Bike TFP Special TFP/Honda
  • Justin VODANOVICH Custom Dragon Bike Derringer 120ci

Comp Bike

  • Morry CANTARELLA Kawasaki ZX14 Kawasaki 1352cc
  • Paul DE KLERK Kawasaki ZX14 Kawasaki 1352cc
  • Ross GREEN Suzuki Hayabusa Suzuki 1327cc
  • Michael HOLISTER Kawasaki ZX14 Turbo 1352cc
  • Ross SMITH Suzuki Barrybusa Suzuki 1441cc
  • Troy THOMPSON Suzuki Hayabusa Turbo
  • Ross TOWNSON Kawasaki ZX12 Kawasaki 1200cc
  • Justin TOWNSON Honda Fireblade Honda 925cc

Modified Bike

  • Chris ALLEN Suzuki GSXR GSXR 0
  • Brett ALLEN Suzuki Bandit Suzuki 1157cc
  • Hamish CUNNINGHAM Suzuki Hayabusa Suzuki 1340cc
  • Christopher FRYER Kawasaki ZX14 Kawasaki 1400cc
  • Simon GARBUTT Suzuki Hayabusa Suzuki 1340cc
  • Ian GLATZ Suzuki GSX Suzuki 1428cc
  • Rob GOOD Suzuki Hayabusa Suzuki 1340cc
  • Murray GRANT Kawasaki ZX14 Kawasaki 1352cc
  • Wayne GUMMOW Kawasaki ZX14R Kawasaki 1400cc
  • Natasha HAYDEN Yamaha 2019 R1 Yamaha 999cc
  • Brian HOTKER Ducati Panigale L Twin 1199cc
  • Shaun MCGARRY Harley DavidsonDestroyer V Twin 1400cc
  • Chris MORGAN Ducati Xdiavel Ducati 1262cc
  • Daniel NATALOTTO Kawasaki ZX6-R Ninja Kawasaki 599cc
  • Paul NIEUWHOF Kawasaki Z900 Kawasaki 1428cc
  • Phill PATON Suzuki GSXR1000 Suzuki 999cc
  • Ian READ Suzuki Hayabusa Suzuki 1441cc
  • Owen ROSE Triumph Daytona Triple 675cc
  • Luke SEATON Yamaha R1 2015 Yamaha 998cc
  • Geoff SMITH BMW S1000RR BMW 1000cc
  • Jack WASLEY Kawasaki ZX14R Kawasaki 1441cc
  • David WATERS Kawasaki ZX10R Kawasaki 998cc


The Australian National Drag Racing Association Ltd, or ANDRA for short, is the drag racing sanctioning body of Australia. The organization was created in 1973 from a more drag racing oriented faction of the Australian Hot Rod Federation. Today ANDRA sanctions races throughout Australia and throughout the year at all levels, from Top Fuel to Junior Dragster, on everything from temporary regional tracks to international standard facilities in capital cities. ANDRA and its members make drag racing a family-friendly, safe sport. So come along as a spectator or bring your street car to an “off-street” event and enjoy the excitement that is Australian drag racing. www.andra.com.au

Drag Racing Tshirts

Dragbike.com Partners

Support the companies that support motorcycle drag racing by shopping with the companies below.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular