Rockingham Dragway


AHDRA Drag Racing

AMRA, AHDRA Combined McClure Memorial Event is South’s Biggest All-Harley Race

American Motorcycle Racing Association

Reigning AMRA and AHDRA Champion Ryan Peery of Milford, Ohio, reigning and three-time NHRA U.S. Nationals Champ Randal Andras of Amelia, La., and two-time former NHRA and IHRA series champion Jay Turner of Julian will be among the challengers this week when Pfafftown’s Tii Tharpe pursues another Ray Price Top Fuel Challenge trophy at the 31st Jim McClure Memorial Nitro World Finals at Rockingham Dragway.

AMRA Ryan Peery

Tharpe, himself a two-time NHRA series champion and 2018 U.S. Nationals winner, this year is trying to become the first three-time winner of the Top Fuel trophy that honors the memory of the late Hall of Fame rider and team owner.

The Carolinas’ biggest all-Harley event takes on even more significance as a result of the postponement of last month’s AHDRA Fall Nitro Shootout. With no viable make-up dates available, that event is being run in conjunction with the McClure event with points and trophies awarded for both the AMRA series and the AHDRA series.

Tii Tharpe

The joint effort between the two all-Harley sanctioning bodies will bring together all the elements of Harley nation for one gigantic weekend of racing during which Sam White of Chapin, S.C., will try to repeat as Pro Fuel champion and, in the process, annex the AHDRA Pro Fuel championship on a bike prepared by many-time Rockingham winner Johnny Vickers.

Champions also will be crowned in Nitro Funny Bike, where Armon Furr of Orangeburg, S.C., will duel with AHDRA point leader Michael Balch of Slatington, Pa., and AMRA pacesetter and defending Rockingham champ Jim Doyle of Chicopee, Mass., Pro Modified and a host of sportsman categories.

MDRA Armon Furr Top Fuel Motorcycle

In addition to Tharpe, Turner, Andras and Peery, the Top Fuel challenge likely will include current AHDRA point leader Jimmy MacMillan of Deland, Fla., former AHDRA champ Rich Vreeland of Danville, Pa., 2022 U.S. Nationals runner-up Bill Jackson of Honey Brook, Pa., John Toth, Charleroi, Pa., David Larson of Topeka, Kan., and Ashville’s Tracy Kile, winner earlier this year of the AHDRA event at Milan, Mich.

Jay Turner

The track will be open for early parking on Thursday with an open test-and-tune from 12 noon until 6 p.m. Friday. Qualifying, beginning at 10 a.m. Saturday, will conclude with an on-site concert featuring the music of Straightwire. Sunday eliminations begin at 11 a.m.
Tickets are $55 for three days, $45 for two days or $25 daily. There’s $5 off on every ticket or ticket package purchased in advance. Children under six are free with a ticketed adult.

AMRA and AHDRA point standings entering the 31st annual Jim McClure Memorial Nitro World Finals at Rockingham Dragway:


1. Ryan Peery, Milford, Ohio, 1200
2. Jay Turner, Julian, 990
3. Tii Tharpe, Pfafftown, 950
4. Randal Andras, Amelia, La., 715
5. John Toth, Charleroi, Pa., 595

1. Jim Doyle, Chicopee, Mass., 1235
2. Chris Smith, Murfreesboro, Tenn., 965
3. Jim Martin, Palatine, Ill., 375

1. Paul Anderson, Clarkston, Mich., 1280
2. Jim Martin, Palatine, Ill., 1150
3. Phil Lower, Vicksburg, Mich., 700


1. Jimmy McMillan, Deland, Fla., 340
2. Tracy Kile, Ashville, 306
3. Bill “Billy Jack” Jackson, Honey Brook, Pa., 182
4. Ryan Peery, Milford Ohio, 173
5. Rich Vreeland, Danville, Pa., 163

1. Michael Balch, Slatington, Pa., 292
2. Armon Furr, Orangeburg, S.C., 175
3. Jim Martin, Palatine, Ill., 118

1. Sam White, Chapin, S.C., 419
2. Rocky Jackson, Youngsville, La., 284
3. Jim Martin, Palatine, Ill., 155

2021 Results
Top Fuel – Tii Tharpe, Pfafftown, def. Ryan Peery, Milford, Ohio
Pro Fuel – Sam White, Chapin, S.C., def. Jim Martin, Palestine, Ill.
Nitro Funny Bike – Jim Doyle, Chicopee, Mass., def. Armon Furr, Orangeburg, S.C.
Pro Modified – Shane Pendegrast, Murfreesboro, Tenn., def. John Price, Emmitsburg, Md.
Pro Gas – Billy Doherty, Lake Charles, La., def. Donnie Huffman, Lakeland, Fla.

2020 Results
Top Fuel – Tii Tharpe, Pfafftown, def. Ryan Peery, Milford, Ohio
Nitro Funny Bike – Chris Smith, Nashville, Tenn., def. Tadashi Saito, Tokyo, Japan
Pro Fuel – Preston Bartlett, Palatka, Fla., def. Sam White, Chapin, S.C
Pro Modified – Billy Doherty, Lake Charles, La., def. John Price, Emmitsburg, Md.
Dial-In Eliminator – Ardie Rawlings, Lakeland, Fla., def. Kevin Laughman, Spring Grove, Pa.


AHDRA is owned by Pulse Marketing, the Hellertown, Pennsylvania-based motorsports promotion company run by veteran drag racer Rowe and his family. raceahdra.com

Facebook page: www.facebook.com/ahdraracing
Facebook group: www.facebook.com/groups/AHDRA

Questions? Contact Bill Rowe at bcrowe92891@gmail.com or at (484) 767-3908.

The American Motorcycle Racing Association was formed over 30 years ago and is the only officially sanctioned association that is exclusively dedicated to American made, V-Twin based motorcycle drag racing in the world. Whether you’re interested in E.T. based racing, set index racing, heads-up or Top Fuel Nitro Bikes, we have a class for you. Membership is easy and the events are carried out in a way that makes it easy for beginners and veterans alike. All class designations and rules for each can be found here as well as the membership application. We are happy to welcome new racers and offer help to get you started. Join today and we’ll see ya at the track.

For more information visit www.amralive.com / info@amralive.com / Facebook

Drag Racing Tshirts

Dragbike.com Partners

Support the companies that support motorcycle drag racing by shopping with the companies below.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular