HomeNews / Race ResultsJay Turner to be Inducted into the North Carolina Drag Racing Hall...

Jay Turner to be Inducted into the North Carolina Drag Racing Hall of Fame

North Carolina Drag Racing Hall of Fame

Jay Turner to be Inducted into the North Carolina Drag Racing Hall of Fame

This Saturday, February 18, 2023, at the 20th annual Shriners Drag Racing and Hot Rod Expo, to be held at the Greensboro Coliseum Complex: Jay Turner of Jay Turner Racing fame will be inducted the as part of the 2023 North Carolina Drag Racing Hall of Fame.

Jay Turner

He’s in some very lofty company as other inductees this year include legends like the first lady of drag racing Shirley Muldowney, journalist Bobby Bennett of Competition Plus, and racing superstars Todd Tutterow & Quain Stott.  This is a great honor for Jay Turner and for all of the motorcycle drag racing to see this man properly recognized for his decades of hard-fought success. This award is well earned.

Jay began his nitromethane fuelled interest in motorcycle drag racing by entering the nitro bikes in competition in 1989. In 1994, Jay set the AHDRA, Pro/Fuel ¼ mile ET record at 7.248 at Rockingham. In 1998 he set IHRA Top Fuel Harley elapsed time record of 6.70 @ 206 MPH. Also in 1998 he also scored his first T/F win riding for Bobby Buckley and his “Team Bulldog” entry. In 1999, ten years after he began Nitro Harley racing, Jay won his first IHRA Screamin’ Eagle TFH World championship. In 2000 he won his second championship while being named the IHRA Professional Driver of the Year.

Jay "Bull Dog" Turner had a solo pass during E-1 as Jake Stordeur, could not make the call.


In 2002 he formed Jay Turner Racing and began racing in both T/F and Pro/Fuel Harley. 2003 Eastern Division Champ, 04 AMRA T/F #1. In 2005 Jay teamed up with Johnny Mancuso when Johnny retired from racing his T/F bike. Jay then won two Fuel championships with the AHDRA in both Top Fuel and Pro Fuel in the same year.

Overall Jay Turner has won no less than nine #1 national championship plates with various sanctions and in divisional competitions. He’s also amassed no less than seven national championships in Top Fuel Harley as a team owner, builder, and tuner. Throughout Jay’s career, he has helped dozens, if not hundreds of fuel bike racers during his decades of nitro Harley racing with parts, advice and racing opportunities to learn from him.

Without question, Jay Turner has amassed the most successful Top Fuel motorcycle enterprise in drag racing. It is not uncommon for JTR bikes at any given drag racing-sanctioned event to comprise ½ or greater of the competition field in Top Fuel Harley. Mr. Turner is a credit to our sport and to the class of Top Fuel Harley.

20th Annual SHRINERS Drag Racing and Hot Rod EXPO

20th Annual SHRINERS Drag Racing and Hot Rod EXPO

Come be a part of the Legends in Drag Racing Saturday, February 18th, at the 20th Annual SHRINERS Drag Racing and Hot Rod EXPO at the Greensboro Coliseum Complex. There will be a meet and greet autograph & picture session from 12 noon to 1 PM. And the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will start at 1 PM. Get more info about the expo, click here.

Previous Motorcycle Drag Racers Inductees

2023: Jay Turner
2020: Pete & Jacki Hill
2018: Bill Furr
2013: Jim McClure
2010: Elmer Trett Racing
2008: Ray Price
2007: Danny Johnson

North Carolina Drag Racing Hall of Fame

Tom McCarthy Until Next time…

– Tom McCarthy

Drag Racing Tshirts

Dragbike.com Partners

Support the companies that support motorcycle drag racing by shopping with the companies below.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular