HomeNews / Race ResultsNDRC: Super Springmount Delivers For Aeroflow National Sportsman Championship

NDRC: Super Springmount Delivers For Aeroflow National Sportsman Championship

NDRC - National Drag Racing Championship

Super Springmount Delivers For Aeroflow National Sportsman Championship

The first Eastern Conference event of the Aeroflow National Sportsman Championship, part of the recently established National Drag Racing Championship, has delighted racers and spectators alike in picture perfect weather conditions at Springmount Raceway today.

Racing for seven NDRC brackets was held across the day and into the evening, complemented by a world first performance from the Aeroflow Wheelstanders, a bustling off-track entertainment precinct complete with jumping castles and obstacle mazes, as well as show-stopping fireworks.

When the final passes were complete this evening, it was Kay Swenson (Real Street), Mike Pullella (Super Street), Ned McQuade (Junior Dragster), Daniel List (Super Sedan), Jon Mengel (Performance Bike), Steve Twine (Modified Bike) and Daniel Morris (Top Sportsman) who hoisted the event winning Christmas Tree trophies.

Earlier in the day, Christian Schneeberger (Real Street), Ben Walker (Super Street), Tegan Crocker (Junior Dragster), Angelo Tadini (Super Sedan), Mengel (Performance Bike), Russell Bell (Modified Bike) and Steven Somer (Top Sportsman) were also celebrated for taking out the Top Qualifying honours for their respective brackets.

Extreme Bike
At the close of qualifying, Mike Sutherst was also heralded as the top qualifier for Extreme Bike, however when Joe Khoury had to withdraw before the start of racing due to problems with his bike, the bracket was unable to proceed due to insufficient numbers.

In the battle for NDRC points, the Chicago Shootout format ensured racers and spectators alike enjoyed as much racing as possible at the North Queensland facility.

Jon Mengel
Jon Mengel – Photo by Caleb Montiadis, 5th.Focus

Performance Bike
Winner – Jon Mengel
#1 Qualifier – Jon Mengel

Steve Twine
Steve Twine – photo by Caleb Montiadis, 5th.Focus.

Modified Bike
Winner – Steve Twine
Runner-up – Russell Bell
#1 Qualifier – Russell Bell

Performance Bike and Modified Bike had fans of all things two-wheeled entertained, with Rocklea’s Jon Mengel taking the victory in his Suzuki GSXR1000 in a solo final after rival Ken Collin was unable to proceed past the first round, while in Modified Bike, Steve Twine took the win over top qualifier Russell Bell. Twine, of Woree, and his Honda CBR1000 took the win over Bell following round one and two wins over Laeith Skinner and Marty Caruana and a round two bye, while Bell had enjoyed a round one solo before emerging successful from battles against Peter Cambieras and Steven Day.

Also impressive were the Aeroflow Wheelstanders of Shelby Leahy (Miss Behavin) and Chelsea Leahy (Nitro Sherriff). When the sisters took to the track three times across the afternoon and evening, it marked the first time two women had raced Wheelstanders against each other anywhere in the world.

Nitro Sherriff
Nitro Sherriff – Jon Mengel – Photo by Caleb Montiadis, 5th.Focus

Sportsman competitors looking to secure points in the NDRC title chase will now head to Mildura’s Sunset Strip for the Sunset Nationals (Western Conference – September 16/17) and to Benaraby Dragway (Eastern Conference – 7 October).

For more information about the NDRC, please visit www.ndrc.tv

Drag Racing Tshirts

Dragbike.com Partners

Support the companies that support motorcycle drag racing by shopping with the companies below.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular