HomeNews / Race ResultsNHRA: Pro Stock Motorcycle Heads to the Four-Wide Nationals

NHRA: Pro Stock Motorcycle Heads to the Four-Wide Nationals

NHRA Mello Yellow drag racing series

10th annual NGK Spark Plugs Four-Wide Nationals
zMAX Dragway
April 26-28, 2019

Pro Stock Motorcycle Heads to the Four-Wide Nationals

Drag Racing’s Ultimate Thrill Ride Powers Back to Zmax Dragway for Ngk Spark Plugs NHRA Four-wide Nationals

The biggest spectacle in drag racing turns 10 years old in 2019, as NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series four-wide drag racing returns to zMAX Dragway for the upcoming 10th annual NGK Spark Plugs NHRA Four-Wide Nationals, April 26-28.

It is the sixth of 24 races during the 2019 NHRA season and marks the 10th anniversary of four-wide drag racing, one of the most unique experiences in all of motorsports. Drag racing’s ultimate thrill ride provides a sensory overload that is unmatched in the sport as four 10,000-horsepower nitro-burning machines power down the dragstrip simultaneously. It has created incredible excitement over the years at the facility known as the “Bellagio of dragstrips,” as fans have turned out in impressive numbers to take in the unforgettable action.

The best in Top Fuel, Funny Car, and Pro Stock Motorcycle will compete in the four-lane event and try to earn a Wally at zMAX Dragway. Steve Torrence (Top Fuel), Cruz Pedregon (Funny Car), and Jerry Savoie (Pro Stock Motorcycle) were last year’s winners. The race will be televised on FOX Sports 1, including a broadcast of the finals on Sunday, April 28 at 6:00 p.m. (ET).

Veteran Jerry Savoie, the 2016 world champion in Pro Stock Motorcycle, grabbed his first four-wide victory a season ago with five-time world champion Andrew Hines finishing as runner-up. Hines started his 2019 season on a strong note with a victory in Gainesville, a welcome sign after going winless in 2018.

He’ll look to build on that and earn his third four-wide victory and seventh overall at the track. But Hines, whose six wins at zMAX are the most in NHRA history, will have to deal with the likes of teammates Eddie Krawiec and Angelle Sampey, who have a combined seven world titles, defending world champ Matt Smith, Hector Arana Jr., and Joey Gladstone.

Mello Yello Drag Racing Series qualifying will feature two rounds at 4:30 and 7:30 p.m. on Friday, April 26 and the final two rounds of qualifying on Saturday, April 27, at 2:00 and 4:15 p.m. Final eliminations are scheduled for 12 p.m. on Sunday, April 28.

Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., NHRA is the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States. NHRA presents 24 national events featuring the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series and NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod Drag Racing Series. NHRA provides competition opportunities for drivers of all levels in the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA. NHRA also offers NHRA Jr. Street program for teens and the Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 5 to 17. In addition, NHRA owns and operates four racing facilities: Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; Gainesville Raceway in Florida; Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to NHRA.com

Drag Racing Tshirts

Dragbike.com Partners

Support the companies that support motorcycle drag racing by shopping with the companies below.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular