HomeNews / Race ResultsNHRA Summit Racing Series West Central Division Finals

NHRA Summit Racing Series West Central Division Finals

NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Series


Brainerd International Raceway took home the coveted Team Championship while four individual racers scored wins at the NHRA Summit Racing Series West Central Division Finals at Heartland Park Topeka and are heading to the NHRA Summit Racing Series National Championship in California.

Racers from Brainerd International Raceway racked up 51 points to take a commanding lead in the team championship as they held on to top Kansas International Dragway and SRCA Dragstrip who tied for second with 39.  I-29 Dragway was fourth at 37 and host track Heartland Park was fifth with 35.

Todd Piper led the list of winners putting together a .020 second package with a near perfect .003 reaction time in Super Pro to knock out Jeremy Smith for the win.  Piper, Wamefo, Kan., clocked in at 7.277 seconds at 175.59 mph with Smith, Great Bend, Kan., crossing the line in 8.995, 178.07

In the Pro class it was Troy Ross, Emporia, Kan., taking the hole shot in his ’69 Nova which forced Nick Siebert to break out by .026 seconds in his ’64 Buick.  Ross’ 10.526 second lap at 117.62 took the win with Siebert coming in at 10.844, 118.26.

Kansas racers continued to dominate as Korbynn Stallbaumer, Wakaruse, Kan., upended Kyle Tripp, Golden, Colo.  It was close at the start but Stallbaumer was better at the strip posting a 12.224 second run at 101.32 mph in a ’83 Chevy to Tripp’s 12.068, 111.03 in his ’69 Coronet.

The three will be joined by former division champion Tom Klemme in their quest for the Summit National Championship in November when they will battle division champions from across the country at the Auto Club NHRA Finals at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona.  Klemme faced off with Jon Haney who took the early lead in Bike/Sled with a stellar .003 second reaction time but Klemme had the power and drove around him with an 8.998 second pass at 129.01 mph on his ’73 Suzuki.  Haney clocked in at 9.952, 132.80.

The High School title went to Travis Steffens who defeated Colton Wheeler by 6-hundredths of a second in his ’00 S-10.  Steffens, Sherrill, Iowa, went 108.60 mph in 12.197 seconds to overtake Wheeler, Wichita, Kan., and his ’68 Camaro at 12.573, 102.04.

Saturday’s action was highlighted by the Race of Champions where Steffens also advanced to the finals in High School but fell to Andrew Osterhaus, Dewitt, Neb.  Osterhaus held off Steffens with his ’08 Ford running 17.376 seconds at 76.41 mph.

Osterhaus was joined by Rodney Rasgorshek, Todd Casper, Brandon Schmall and Jimmy Paulson who each took home Race of Champions honors.

Rasgorshek, Kimball, Neb., drove his ’93 Mustang to the win over Anthony Bignell, Eau Claire, Wis., in the Super Pro ROC. His 11.039 was enough to hold off Bignell’s ’09 dragster at 7.815, 171.49.

Casper, Lake Preston, S.D., got the win in Pro courtesy of a red light foul start when Wichita, Kan., racer Chris Gray left early.  Casper ran it out to a 9.229, 145.88 in his ’69 Trans AM.

Schmall and Paulson rounded out the winners with Schmall, Lino Lakes, Minn., taking out Alix Risse, Waterloo, Iowa, in Sportsman while Paulson put Chris Boom on the trailer in the Bike/Sled category.  Schmall’s ’74 Dart over powered Risse with a 12.292, 94.13 to a 13.210, 89.48.  Paulson, Stacy, Minn., raced to a 9.137, 136.68 lap on his ’12 Clampitt with Boom, Pierre, S.D., close behind on his ’01 Arctic Cat with a 10.006, 121.99

The following are Sunday’s final results from the 2015 NHRA Summit Racing Series West Central Division Finals:


Brainerd International Raceway             51
Kansas International Dragway               39
SRCA Dragstrip                                   39
I 29 Dragway                                       37
Heartland Park Topeka                        35
Bandimere Speedway                           34
Grove Creek Dragway                         26
Kearney Raceway                                25
Tri State Raceway                                24
Pueblo Motorsports Park                     21
Rock Falls Raceway                             20
Julesburg Dragstrip                               19
Top End Dragway                                12
Oahe Speedway                                   11
Douglas Motorsports Park                    7
Sturgis Dragstrip                                   1


Todd Piper, Wamego, Kan., ’14 dragster, 7.277, 175.59  def. Jeremy Smith, Great Bend, Kan., ’08 dragster, 8.995, 178.07.


Troy Ross, Emporia, Kan., ’69 Nova, 10.526, 117.62  def. Nick Siebert, Wamego, Kan., ’64 Buick, 10.844, 118.26.


Korbynn Stallbaumer, Wakarusa, Kan., ’83 Chevy, 12.224, 101.32  def. Kyle Tripp, Golden, Colo., ’69 Coronet, 12.068, 111.03.


Tom Klemme, Davenport, Iowa, ’73 Suzuki, 8.998, 129.01  def. Jon Haney, Wichita, Kan., ’99 Honda, 9.952, 132.80.


Travis Steffens, Sherrill, Iowa, ’00 S-10, 12.197, 108.60  def. Colton Wheeler, Wichita, Kan., ’68 Camaro, 12.573, 102.04.


The following are Saturday’s final results from the 2015 NHRA Summit Racing Series West Central Division Race of Champions:


Rodney Rasgorshek, Kimball, Neb., ’92 Mustang, 11.039, 120.54  def. Anthony Bignell, Eau Claire, Wis., ’09 dragster, 7.815,



Todd Casper, Lake Preston, S.D., ’69 Trans AM, 9.229, 145.88  def. Chris Gray, Wichita, Kan., ’79 Capri, foul.


Brandon Schmall, Lino Lakes, Minn., ’74 Dart, 12.292, 94.13  def. Alix Risse, Waterloo, Iowa, ’67 Camaro, 13.210, 89.48.


Jimmy Paulson, Stacy, Minn., ’12 Clampitt, 9.137, 136.68  def. Chris Boom, Pierre, S.D., ’01 Arctic CAT, 10.066, 121.99.


Andrew Osterhaus, Dewitt, Neb., ’08 Ford, 17.376, 76.41  def. Travis Steffens, Sherrill, Iowa, ’00 S-10, 12.198, 106.13.

Drag Racing Tshirts

Dragbike.com Partners

Support the companies that support motorcycle drag racing by shopping with the companies below.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular