Vickers Takes the Pro Fuel Class Win

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Hawaya Racing
Hawaya Racing Products
AMRA Finals 2017

Vickers Takes the Pro Fuel Class Win

Derringers Takes Nitro Funny Bike and Pro Fuel 

It was a busy and exciting weekend for Hawaya Racing this past weekend at the Jim McClure Nitro Nationals held in Rockingham NC. 10 Pro Fuelers showed up to do battle for the title of the AMRA National Finals Champion. The weather was warm and muggy, but dry. In qualifying on Saturday, Vickers ran a 7.28 second run to ultimately get the number 1 qualifying spot. On Sunday conditions were about the same as the eliminations began. After the first round, Vickers, Thornley, Beasley and Jim Martin all advance. In the semi’s, Vickers took out Jay Beasley and Janette got the win over Jim Martin. In the final Pro Fuel run of the day, Janette got a slight holeshot but could not hold off the Terminator with Vickers again running in the 7.20’s. Final times were 7.24 for Vickers and 7.38 for Thornley.

In Nitro Funny Bike, Rich Vreeland and Dennis Fisher, both on HRP built Derringer powered machines were in a point’s battle for the AMRA NFB Championship, heading into the finals only 15 points apart. Steve Vickers was turning the screws for Dennis and he was running well. Rich, on the other hand, was also running and riding well as the two traded positions back and forth during qualifying. After 3rd. round, Dennis wound up #2 and Rich wound up #5. During the first round of eliminations, Dennis, Rich, Keith Browne on the Derringer powered turbo bike and Kirby all advance. In the semi’s both Dennis and Rich had bye runs, as their competitors had broken. These two guys have been trading punches all year long and it had been fun to watch, but now it all fittingly came down to the final pass of the year to decide the 2017 NFB Champion.

When the lights came down, Dennis got the advantage on the tree as both riders blasted down the track. When the scoreboards lit up, it was Dennis Fisher that got there first, winning his first NFB race and the Championship in the same pass. Final times were Dennis 6.776 @ 202.39 mph to Rich Vreeland’s 6.788 @ 202.48 mph. What a drag race!

“It was a very good weekend all the way around this past weekend for HRP says, President Johnny Vickers. I had a Gremlin in the Terminator bike all weekend. During eliminations, Janette was getting faster and faster and I just kept slowing down. Finally, I discovered the problem to be a bad plug wire and replaced it just before we went out for the final round. The Terminator stepped back up and I was just lucky to get around Janette. Janette and Buddy had a great year, going to the finals in every event that they attended and the icing on the cake was the AMRA Pro Fuel Championship.

Congratulations to Dennis Fisher on his NFB Championship and Janette and Buddy on their Pro Fuel Championship in the AMRA for 2017.

I would like to thank Nitro Bike school grad, Ron Yates for jumping in and giving us a hand for the weekend. He was a real trooper.”

Team Hawaya would like to thank our sponsors for their continued support of our racing efforts and commitment to the sport of Motorcycle Drag racing:

  • VP Racing Fuels
  • Lucas Oil
  • Venom Group International
  • Mickey Thompson Tires
  • Vanson Leathers
  • PAC Racing Springs
  • CP Pistons
  • Projack Race Lifts

Write a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Required fields are marked*